An inconvenient truth…about Diabetes

Hi, everyone!

In March 2013, I was diagnosed with Type II Diabetes Mellitus, more commonly known as Type 2 Diabetes.  I haven’t hid from it nor have I denied it, but, I find some part of monitoring my blood glucose levels a bit painful, the prick to get the sample.

I’ve done better in many other areas of educating myself and changing my habits.  I don’t eat as much for comfort, I’ve shooed away fried foods, and I try to eat healthy by baking, broiling, grilling, and using the Crock-Pot to cook with.

Yes I do occasionally get french fries and fast food, but not so much without a job.  (Though I am still going to school online to become a Journalist–through Ashford University).

But, every morning and evening, I am supposed to prick my finger and check my level, which is very hard to wrap my brain and soul around to accomplish this task that is part of my new normal.

And somehow, I can’t prick my finger.

I don’t know what is blocking me from doing this simple task, and it’s driving me crazy.

Leave a Reply

